Music and My First Love

Standard

Is there a tune or style of music that gets your juices flowing? Is there an artist who gets your heart pumping, toe tapping, and heat rising?
Time to share a story or comment of the sensuality caused by those opening notes as they slide up and penetrate your ears.

For a  few months now, I have been thinking back to my first boyfriend and how he used to write to me a couple of times a week.  I  mentioned  him in a previous Wicked Wednesday post,  We lived in the same town, but only used to see each other at weekends, so we both used to write to each other during the week.  Devouring his handwritten letters after returning from college was the highlight of my day and my heart leapt each time I saw there was a letter waiting for me. The letters were very distinct as he used coloured envelopes and often put heart-shaped stickers on the front and rear. Recalling his passionate words has led me to remember the mix cassette tape that he compiled for me. He coloured the insert card in with royal blue felt-tipped pen and also drew two entwined red hearts with our names written on. Sadly, I destroyed every letter and memento from the relationship and specifically remember pulling the tape out of the cassette in a frenzy.  I was the one who ended the relationship and at the time, getting rid of every trace of him seemed logical to my nineteen year old brain. Now, nearly thirty years later, the thought of all those precious memories ending up in the bin makes me incredibly sad.

I don’t remember many of the songs on the tape, but I do recall I Want To Make It With You by David Gates and Bread. Having just checked I had the correct song title, I have also been reminded of If and Everything I Own, also by Bread. I had completely forgotten that they featured on the tape and listening to them has made me quite emotional.  The only other song I recall was quite sombre and about a man deeply in love with a woman called Honey who was dying. I have never remembered the artist or song title, but an internet search has revealed it is Honey by Bobby Goldsboro. So, not the most cheery of songs and not my choice of music nowadays, but all full of deep emotion and perfect for first loves to express their complex feelings.

Back to the present time and to music that I find sensual and spine-tingling…

I had anticipated including half a dozen or so of my favourite tracks, but on browsing though my Spotify playlist, I realised that this was impossible.

So, here is my long shortlist for my perfect passionate soundtrack…

Just Another Day – Jon Secada

Higher Love – Steve Winwood

The above two tracks are probably my favourite tracks on this list and are both incredibly powerful in terms of music and lyrics.

More Than This – Roxy Music

Dance Away – Roxy Music

Avalon – Roxy Music

Jealous Guy  – Roxy Music

I have to say that Bryan Ferry has the sexiest voice ever and has me swooning and weak-kneed every time I hear his music!

Go Your Own Way – Fleetwood Mac

Summer of 69 – Bryan Adams

Run To You – Bryan Adams

You Do Something To Me – Paul Weller

Sultans Of Swing – Dire Straits

Follow You, Follow Me – Genesis

Invisible Touch – Genesis

Black Velvet – Alannah Myles

Me & Tennessee – Tim McGraw

Boys of Summer – Don Henley

You’re The Voice – John Farnham

Kiss The Rain – Billie Myers

All Night Long and Running With The Night – Lionel Richie

 Stars – Simply Red

Every Breath You Take – The Police

 

Click the button for the other musical themed Wicked Wednesday posts

Wicked Wednesday... a place to be wickedly sexy or sexily wicked

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Music and My First Love

  1. Kit

    Reading about your teenage angst and the regret that followed the loss of those love tokens is a powerful reminder of all first loves. Happily music, as happens so often, offers comfort and comes with a smile. I like several of your choices, and love several in particular.
    Well written Scarlet. Sentiment without sentimentality. 😊 xx

    Like

  2. Like you, I have little left of any mementos from previous loves and of many of them I cannot even remember the music that we liked together. That said, you are listing some lovely music here, some of which definitely are my favorites too… Avalon, Summer of 69, Sultans of Swing, Black Velvet…

    Thanks for sharing!

    Rebel xox

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

